News Blog for Seattle's University District Neighborhood

 

Entries from August 2017

Get your car dirty this weekend!

August 18th, 2017 by sarawilly

Brown Bear Car Wash celebrates its 60th anniversary next Thursday, August 24, by offering free “Beary Clean” car washes at 23 Puget Sound area tunnel wash locations from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Last year’s “Free Car Wash Day” set the all-time record as Brown Bear tunnel wash locations added sparkle and shine to 29,673 cars and trucks across the Puget Sound area.

For the past ten years, family-owned Brown Bear has provided over 280,000 free washes as it celebrated its August “birthday” with customers and honored veterans and current service members on Veterans Day.

Brown Bear founder and CEO Victor Odermat opened the company’s first location in 1957 at 15th Ave West in Seattle.  Brown Bear now owns and operates a total of 52 car washes throughout the Puget Sound area and
Spokane.

“This is our way of saying ‘thank you’ to the community that has supported us for 60 years,” said Odermat. “It’s a fun and busy day as we celebrate with our customers while benefitting the environment.” During the anniversary celebration, on August 24 only, two customers will be selected to win free car washes for a year through Brown Bear’s Unlimited Wash Club. Customers can enter to win by taking a photo of your newly-washed vehicle and posting it on Twitter (@brownbear) or Instagram (@brownbearcarwash) with the hashtag #FreeCarWashDay.

Widely recognized for its environmentally-friendly practices, Brown Bear uses gentle, biodegradable cleaning detergents at all its locations.

For tunnel wash locations and more information about Brown Bear Car Wash, visit www.brownbear.com.

→ No Comments

Free new toilet for qualified homeowners

August 15th, 2017 by sarawilly

Would you like to save money and the environment?  Seattle Public Utilities Water Conservation Program can help you do both!  Partnering with Sound Generations Minor Home Repair program, the Water Conservation Program will remove your old toilet and replace it with a water-saving toilet at no cost to you.  To be eligible, you must receive a Seattle Public Utilities water bill, live in the home you own, have toilets that were installed before 2004 and meet income guidelines.
Interested?  Call Sound Generations at 206-448-5751 or click here to get started.

→ No Comments

Hold off on those bonfires – burn ban is back for King County

August 10th, 2017 by sarawilly

by Meghan Walker at our sister site myballard

With around 20 wildfires still blazing in British Columbia, the air quality burn ban has been reinstated for King County.

With more wildfire smoke from BC moving into our region, PSCAA is issuing a Stage 1 Air Quality Burn Ban, effective at 2 PM today, 8-8-17

The Puget Sound Clean Air Agency has again issued the Stage 1 ban for King, Kitsap, Pierce, and Snohomish Counties, effective at 2pm on August 8. “With high pressure pushing more smoke into the Puget Sound area, we forecast levels that are unhealthy for sensitive groups through Friday,” the agency writes in a statement. “We expect calm winds and smoke to settle daily.  Saturday and onward, the area of high pressure should push eastward, bringing us back our more typical and cleaner air from the Pacific Ocean.”

As a reminder, the Stage 1 ban includes the following:

  • No charcoal barbeques or similar solid fuel devices
  • No fire pits, chimineas, fire bowls, or similar free-standing devices
  • No campfires or bonfires
  • No fireplaces, uncertified wood stoves, or uncertified inserts*
  • No agricultural fires (as described in the agricultural burn permit)
  • Local fire districts do not grant Native American ceremonial fire permits outside of tribal lands during air quality burn bans.

It’s okay to use natural gas and propane grills, stoves, or inserts during a Stage 1 burn ban.

→ No Comments

Beat the heat at the Seattle Public Library

August 4th, 2017 by sarawilly

Looking for a cool place to hang out? Most locations of The Seattle Public Library have air conditioning! Find one near you:

·         Ballard Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/ballard-branch> – 5614 22nd Ave. N.W., 206-684-4089.

·         Beacon Hill Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/beacon-hill-branch> – 2821 Beacon Ave. S., 206-684-4711.

·         Broadview Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/broadview-branch> – 12755 Greenwood Ave. N., 206-684-7519.

·         Capitol Hill Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/capitol-hill-branch> – 425 Harvard Ave. E., 206-684-4715.

·         Central Library<http://www.spl.org/locations/central-library> – 1000 Fourth Ave., 206-386-4636.

·         Delridge Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/delridge-branch> – 5423 Delridge Way S.W., 206-733-9125.

·         Douglass-Truth Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/douglass-truth-branch> – 2300 E. Yesler Way, 206-684-4704.

·         Greenwood Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/greenwood-branch> – 8016 Greenwood Ave. N., 206-684-4086.

·         High Point Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/high-point-branch> – 3411 S.W. Raymond St., 206-684-7454.

·         International District/Chinatown Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/international-district–chinatown-branch> – 713 Eighth Ave. S., 206-386-1300.

·         Lake City Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/lake-city-branch> – 12501 28th Ave. N.E., 206-684-7518.

·         Madrona-Sally Goldmark Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/madrona-sally-goldmark-branch> – 1134 33rd Ave., 206-684-4705.

·         Magnolia Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/magnolia-branch> – 2801 34th Ave. W., 206-386-4225.

·         Montlake Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/montlake-branch> – 2401 24th Ave. E., 206-684-4720.

·         NewHolly Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/newholly-branch> – 7058 32nd Ave. S., 206-386-1905.

·         Northgate Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/northgate-branch> – 10548 Fifth Ave. N.E., 206-386-1980.

·         Rainier Beach Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/rainier-beach-branch> – 9125 Rainier Ave. S., 206-386-1906.

·         South Park Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/south-park-branch> – 8604 Eighth Ave. S., 206-615-1688.

·         Wallingford Branch<http://www.spl.org/locations/wallingford-branch> – 1501 N. 45th St., 206-684-4088.

Visit www.spl.org/locations<http://www.spl.org/locations> for a map of all Library locations. For more information, call the Library at 206-386-4636 or Ask a Librarian<https://www.spl.org/using-the-library/get-help/ask-a-librarian>.

→ No Comments